The riches of Nature and History joined together


The Department of Ica is made up of five provinces: Chincha, Pisco, Ica, Palpa and Nazca, covering 21,371.83 km2 of the country’s surface area. It borders with Lima to the north, with the Department of Arequipa to the south, Huancavelica and Ayacucho to the east and the
immensity of the Pacific Ocean to the west.

Out to sea are the Ballestas islandsrocky formations a few kilometres off the coast of Paracas where a variety of penguins and sea lions live, among other species. The Nature Reserve of Paracas, an important area for the preservation of local flora and fauna, is also located there.
Inland are the Nazca Lines, ancient geoglyphs on the plain of Jumana that are best seen from the air. They were drawn by the people of the Nazca culture, who lived there between 200 BC and 600 AD. The different shapes they drew on the Nazca desert were declared a World
Heritage Site by UNESCO.

The lagoon of Huacachina is another of the area’s marvels. This oasis, just a few kilometres from the city of Ica, is a mirror of green water with vegetation in the middle of a desert that is fed by underground springs.

For the more adventurous -including those who will take part in the Desafío Inca-, the Desert of Ica is fascinating ocean of sand that will delight the visitor, even those who already know it.